Home News INEC Approves 5,640 Polling Units For Election

INEC Approves 5,640 Polling Units For Election

Giving an update yesterday on its preparation for the November 6 polls, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) said voting would take place in 5,640 of the 5,720 polling units across the 21 local government areas of the state.

New 1,112 units were added to the existing 4,608, INEC Chairman Prof. Mahmood Yakubu said at a consultative meeting with political parties.

He said 86 of the polling units or 1.5% do not have registered voters, adding that the commission would “not be deploying personnel and materials to these polling units.”

He said the governorship election “would be the first time that voting is taking place in polling units since the recent successful conversion of voting points arising from the expansion of voter access to polling units in Nigeria”.

He said: “894 (15.6%) of the polling units have between 1 and 49 voters. Election will hold in these polling units.

We will continue to work with all stakeholders to ensure that all polling units have voters allotted to them ahead of the 2023 general election.

“Voters were encouraged to seize the opportunity of the Continuous Voter Registration (CVR) exercise to transfer to the new polling units most convenient for them. Many did not do so.

“This can be partly attributed to the security situation in the state which has affected the Commission’s pre-election outdoor activities, including voter education and sensitization.

“Understandably, the voters have also been more circumspect in asking for transfer to polling units.

“At the same time, the Commission did not use its powers under Section 42 of the Electoral Act 2010 (as amended) to allot voters to the new polling units in order to minimise the disruptions that may occur from such a decision in view of the forthcoming governorship election.”

Mahmud said INEC “is ready for the Anambra State governorship election next weekend” and has already moved all non-sensitive materials for the election to the 21 local government areas of the sate.”

Copyright © 2020 Totorinews.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Totorinews.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without giving due credit to Totorinews.com as the source.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here