Home Sports 12 States ready for 2021 NCF Men’s Cricket Championship

12 States ready for 2021 NCF Men’s Cricket Championship

By Akanimo Kufre

More cricket actions is set to begin this weekend following a successful online draws conducted via Zoom on Tuesday 16 March 2021 by the Nigeria Cricket Federation (NCF).

This year’s event preliminary matches will commence this weekend 19th to 20th March, while the finals comes up in Edo State Cricket ground from 22nd to 30th of March 2021.

Lagos and Kaduna States were seeded for pool A and B respectively. Others teams in pool A, are Edo, Anambra and Kwara State.

Joining Kaduna in pool B, are teams from Delta, winners in PH center (Akwa Ibom, Ebonyi ,Imo, and Rivers State), as well as winners of Ibadan center which has Ogun and Oyo States contesting for boasting rights.

According to NCF National Development Manager, Mr. Tonye Timinadi, the cricket format at preliminary stage will be T20 (20overs) with the semi final being 40 overs game and the finalist will play mind challenging 50 overs match.

Timinadi confirm to our reporter that Port Harcourt center games involving 4 State teams will be a knock-out encounter.

As the rains set in the NDM assured that, “In the event of rain, the overs may be reduced to 10overs or organizers will apply Duckworth Lewis Stern (DLS) rules.”

DLS rules is used in Cricket games where weather or other circumstances interrupt matches.

The men’s Championship avail cricketers opportunity to display their talent to attract invitation to national assignment by national selection board.

Copyright © 2020 Totorinews.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Totorinews.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without giving due credit to Totorinews.com as the source.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here